Audubon Wetland Management District

Quick Facts

Audubon Wetland Management District

North Dakota

(701) 442-5474


Things To Do



Audubon Wetland Management District includes Waterfowl Production Areas (WPAs), and Wildlife Development Areas (WDAs) in McLean, Ward, and Sheridan Counties in North Dakota. These public lands contain wetland and grassland habitat for waterfowl, other migratory birds, and many other species of wildlife. Rotational grazing, haying, and prescribed burning are common techniques used to improve and maintain grasslands for nesting birds. These public lands help sustain North America's waterfowl populations by providing secure wetland and grassland habitats.

WPA's have been purchased by the U.S. Fish and Wildlife Service (Service) with funds from the sale of Federal Duck Stamps. Established to protect and restore waterfowl habitat, nearly 95 percent of Waterfowl Production Areas in the U.S. are located in the prairie pothole region of North and South Dakota, Minnesota, Iowa, and northeastern Montana. Approximately ninety-eight cents of each duck stamp dollar is used to purchase habitat.

WDA's are lands purchased by the U.S. Bureau of Reclamation (Reclamation) as part of North Dakota's Garrison Diversion Unit. Reclamation developed these areas for wildlife by restoring drained wetlands and planting cropland acres to grass. The WDAs were transferred to the Service to be managed primarily for the production of migratory birds and for public use.

Map of Audubon Wetland Management District

Latitude, Longitude: 47.542468, -101.222191



  • Fishing

    WDAs and WPAs are open to fishing.

  • Hunting

    WDAs and WPAs are open to hunting.

Phone Numbers


(701) 442-5474