The Statue of Liberty’s Crown Reopens After Yearlong Closure

Statue of Liberty. Source: NPS.gov.With another year of renovations under her belt, Lady Liberty reopens her crown to the public on October 28, 2012. The welcoming beacon of the New York Harbor, embodying freedom and democracy, closed her doors the day after her 125th birthday last year, and will reopen just in time to celebrate her 126th.

Liberty Island is comprised of four main attractions: the exterior park grounds, Fort Wood, The Statue of Liberty, and the pedestal she stands on. The Statue was a gift from the people of France to the people of America on October 28, 1886, elected as a National Monument in 1924, and reconditioned for her 100th birthday on the Fourth of July, 1986.

Lady Liberty represents the democracy of the nation. Coated in 3/32” of copper, the Statue of Liberty gets her famous green complexion from the oxidation, or patina. Her pedestal rests atop Fort Wood. On the second floor of the pedestal is the Statue of Liberty Museum where visitors can learn about the Statue through photographs, videos, oral histories and objects. In the lobby, visitors can view the original torch, and on the second floor can view a display about the history of the torch and the changes it underwent.

This reopening marks the completion of the second phase in a series of renovations to take place at the site. In 2009, according to Mindi Rambo, public affairs specialist for the NPS, the national monument was closed for a year to “assess life safety issues” and “install handrails and guiderails in the copper portion of the statue.” This latest installment includes a new elevator from the base to a level in the pedestal, and a handicap lift to the observation level.

This phase of restoration, funded by several sources including congress and portions of the ferry transportation fee, made the site more handicap accessible, however there is still no elevator access to the crown. There is no admission fee for the statue, Fort Wood, the museum, or the grounds! There is a fee for the ferry to the island, the only way to access the grounds, run by State Cruises. For more information about visiting, please visit the NPS official website.

A ceremony will be held from 10 a.m. to 11 a.m. on Sunday, October 28 and it’s open to the public! Guests will include David Hayes, Deputy Secretary of the Interior, National Park Service Director Jonathan B. Jarvis, local politicians, NPS, and a team of architects and contractors involved in the project. The crown’s reopening is a major step toward completing the project, and the last phase of construction on part of the pedestal and part of Fort Wood will be completed and the areas reopened in early 2013.

Photo Source: NPS.gov.