Quincy Quarries Reservation

Quick Facts

Quincy Quarries Reservation

Massachusetts

(617) 727-4573

Map Directions

Things To Do

Overview

It was here in West Quincy that America's large scale granite quarrying industry was born in 1825 when, after an exhaustive search throughout New England, Solomon Willard selected the area as the source of stone for the Bunker Hill Monument in Charlestown. With his development of the revolutionary construction techniques that made hard Quincy granite a practical building stone, Willard earned the title "Father of the Granite Industry". The Granite Railway, a Civil Engineering Landmark, was established in 1826. It was designed and constructed by railway pioneer Gridley Bryant, and many of his inventions are still in use today. Quincy became known nationwide as "The Granite City". The last active quarry closed in 1963; in 1985, the then Metropolitan District Commission purchased 22 acres including Granite Railway Quarry. Trail connections to the Blue Hills Reservation are protected by recent parkland purchases.

Map of Quincy Quarries Reservation (MA)

Latitude, Longitude: 42.242077, -71.037050

READ MORE

Activities

  • Climbing

    Rock climbers with their own equipment enjoy the granite walls of the quarry.

  • Hiking

    Trail connections to the Blue Hills Reservation are protected by recent parkland purchases.

  • Historic Sites

    The Granite Railway, a Civil Engineering Landmark, was established in 1826. It was designed and constructed by railway pioneer Gridley Bryant, and many of his inventions are still in use today. Quincy became known nationwide as "The Granite City". The last active quarry closed in 1963; in 1985, the then Metropolitan District Commission purchased 22 acres including Granite Railway Quarry. DCR Park Rangers offer programs year-round which highlight the rich history and natural resources of this unique area.

  • Picnicking

    A picnic area is available.

Directions

Driving

Route 93 (Southwest Expressway) to Furnace Brook Parkway (Exit 8) follow signs to Willard Street and cross under Route 93. Take the first right onto Ricciuti Drive at Mr. Tux. Quarries are 1/4 mile on the right.

Public Transportation

MBTA: Red Line to Quincy Center, take MBTA bus #215 to Copeland and Willard Streets, turn left on Willard, cross under the Expressway and take the first right onto Ricciuti Drive. Quarries are 1/4 mile on the right.

Phone Numbers

Primary

(617) 727-4573

Links