Page Farm and Home Museum

Through its collections and programs, the Page Farm and Home Museum contributes to the educational mission of The University of Maine. Thousands of patrons come to the Page Farm and Home Museum each year to learn about the industry, agriculture, economy, and home-life of the late nineteenth and early twentieth centuries. The restored White Farm barn, a post and beam structure, is the centerpiece of the Museum. The three-story building, built in 1833, is the last original agricultural building on the University of Maine campus. The quiet and unassuming exterior belies the rich cultural heritage that it represents. A restored one-room schoolhouse from Holden, used by students from 1855 to 1955, was moved to the Museum grounds in 1994. The Winston E. Pullen Carriage House and the Blacksmith's Shop were constructed in 2003. A acre Heritage Garden rounds out the Museum. Heirloom varieties of herbs, flowers, and vegetables that were grown from 1865 to 1940 are cultivated here.