What are the four types of geysers in Yellowstone National Park?
This question relates to the items listed below. Click each link for more information
10 years ago
Expert Answer
164 Answers
26Helpful Answer Rating

Geysers are generally put into categories of 1) hot springs, 2) fumaroles, 3) mudpots, and of course 4) geysers... Yellowstone's major geyser basins are: Upper, Midway, Lower, Norris, West Thumb, Shoshone and Heart Lake.

For more information, and a great general overview of geyser definitions, logon to:

or, visit our Yellowstone Geology section

Thanks for the inquiry.  Please do come back to see us at for any other questions...  We're always here to help!

10 years ago