What are the two territories flags that made part of the Flags Avenue?
This question relates to the items listed below. Click each link for more information
Mount Rushmore National Memorial, South Dakota, History/Culture
8 years ago
1 Answer

The Avenue of Flags at Mount Rushmore in South Dakota is comprised of 56 flags in total, three of which are U.S. Territories. Each flagpole is marked with the date that statehood was attained. The flags line a pedestrian walkway leading to the monument. The 56 flags represent the following:


50 flags each representing one the 50 states that comprise the United States.


The other six flags represent other U.S. Districts, Commonwealths, and Territories:


The District of Columbia

Guam, a Territory

Puerto Rico, a Commonwealth

American Samoa, a Territory

The Virgin Islands, a Territory

The Northern Mariana Islands, a Commonwealth 

 For more information on the Avenue of Flags and Mount Rushmore, please visit the official NPS website, or download the NPS pdf file listing all of the states, territories, commonwealths, and districts with the dates they were acquired.

8 years ago