Yellowstone National Park

Yellowstone National Park

Five Countries

For convenience purposes, Xanterra Parks & Resorts® divides the park into different regions, or "countries." Locations of park features and facilities in the countries are indicated by these colors throughout this guide.

Mammoth Country extends outward from Mammoth Hot Springs. This fascinating thermal area is home to elk, bison, and other wildlife, as well as abundant hot springs that have formed travertine terraces.

Geyser Country is home to Old Faithful, the world's most famous geyser, as well as other hydro-thermal features, including fumaroles, mud pots and hot springs.

Lake Country is the domain of native cutthroat trout, osprey and bald eagles, as well as moose, bison and bear, which wander the shores of cold, blue Yellowstone Lake.

Roosevelt Country revisits the Old West, where visitors may see a stagecoach fording a stream, deer and bison, or wolves in Lamar Valley.

Canyon Country features the spectacular Grand Canyon of the Yellowstone, Hayden Valley and Lower Falls, which is almost twice as high as Niagara Falls. The area's wildlife include elk, bison and bear.