Fort Stanwix National Monument

Fort Stanwix National Monument

Quick Facts

Fort Stanwix National Monument

New York

(315) 338-7730

Map Directions

Things To Do



Visit Fort Stanwix, where shared heritage comes alive everyday, and explore the sights, sounds, smells and feel of the 18th century. Discover how people endured harsh lives along the Oneida Carrying Place, the superhighway of the 18th century, and directly contributed to the American victory at Saratoga and westward expansion through New York's gateway to the west. Known as "the fort that never surrendered," Fort Stanwix, under the command of Col. Peter Gansevoort, successfully repelled a prolonged siege, in August 1777, by British, German, Loyalist, Canadian, and American Indian troops and warriors commanded by British Gen. Barry St. Leger. The failed siege combined with the battles at Oriskany, Bennington, and Saratoga thwarted a coordinated effort by the British in 1777, under the leadership of Gen. John Burgoyne, to take the northern colonies, and led to American alliances with France and the Netherlands. Troops from Fort Stanwix also participated in the 1779 Clinton-Sullivan Campaign and protected America's northwest frontier from British campaigns until finally being abandoned in 1781. Rediscover hundreds of archeological pieces in the museum and enjoy the fort diorama, theater and bookstore in the visitor center.

Map of Fort Stanwix

Latitude, Longitude: 43.210933, -75.455610



  • Bicycling

    Fort Stanwix National Monument is accessible by bicycle by way of the trails along the Erie Canal National Heritage Corridor. Fort Stanwix sits a mile from the original canal site, at the center of New York, and welcomes all travelers. For those touring the area by bicycle, a bicycle rack can be found at the entrance of the Monument.

  • Historic Sites

    Once inside the visitor center, visitors receive an orientation from the ranger on duty. The Monument has 3 short trails that encircle the fort. One of the trails follows a portion of the Oneida Carrying Place. The other two trails interpret the events of the siege of 1777.

    Join a ranger led program and gain a greater understanding of the events that happened here. Check with the ranger on duty in the Willett Center for times and locations of all programs offered that day.

    Visitors have an opportunity to discover their own bridges to the past in the museum area. Other activities in the fort include living history programs. All visitors are welcome to join to the special events and experience 18th century military life.


Summer in central New York tends to be warm and humid. Daytime temperatures range from 60º to 85º Farenheit, and rainfall average 4.5 inches every month with cloud cover 45% of the time. Spring and fall temperatures vary even more than summer; ranging from freezing to 70º Farenheit. Snow is common as late as May and as early as October. The fort area can become muddy in all seasons. With most activities outdoors, good closed toes walking shoes and low heels are advised. Air conditioning and heating is limited to the visitor center most times in the year. Water and extra layers of clothing in all seasons are always recommended!



All major state routes thru Rome; 26, 46, 49, 69, and 365, pass within sight of the Monument. To get to Rome from the New York Thruway, take exit 32 at Westmoreland to Rt. 233 north to Rt. 365 west, following the signs to downtown Rome. City parking is available within sight of the Monument.


The nearest commercial airport is in Syracuse, NY, 40 miles west of Fort Stanwix NM.

Public Transportation

Bus & Train: A bus terminal and the Amtrak railroad station are located within one mile of the site at the multi-modal station on Martin Street (off of Mill Street or Route 233).

A second train and bus station, Union Station, is located 20 miles to the east in Utica, NY. Directions to the park from this location can be found on the following page.

Bus Pull-off: A pull-off is available on N James Street, as well as on Erie Blvd West directly in front of the fort main entrance, large enough to accommodate two full sized school buses or one coach bus. The pull-off for buses is located on N James Street directly beside the Willett Center.

Phone Numbers


(315) 338-7730